Carlos A. Coello Coello



CINVESTAV-Instituto Politécnico Nacional

Departamento de Computación

Mexico City,MEXICO.


Evolutionary & Swarm Computation




Carlos A. Coello Coello received the Ph.D. degree in computer science from Tulane University, New Orleans, LA, USA, in 1996.,He is a Professor (CINVESTAV-3F Researcher) with the Department of Computer Science of CINVESTAV-IPN, Mexico City, Mexico. He has authored and co-authored over 450 technical papers and book chapters. His publications currently report over 33 000 citations in Google Scholar with an H-index of 70. His current research interests include evolutionary multiobjective optimization and constraint-handling techniques for evolutionary algorithms.,Dr. Coello Coello was a recipient of the 2007 National Research Award from the Mexican Academy of Sciences in the area of exact sciences, the 2013 IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award, and the 2012 National Medal of Science and Arts in the area of Physical, Mathematical and Natural Sciences.

Alice E. Smith 


Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering

Department of Computer Science and Software Engineering

Auburn University, Auburn, AL, USA


Stochastic Modelling



Alice E. Smith is the Joe W. Forehand/Accenture Distinguished Professor of the Industrial and Systems Engineering Department at Auburn University (USA) with a joint appointment with the Department of Computer Science and Software Engineering.  Her research focus is analysis, modeling, and optimization of complex systems with emphasis on computational intelligence.  She holds a U.S. patent and has authored more than 200 refereed publications.  These have accumulated over 12,500 citations with an H Index of 50 (Google Scholar).  Dr. Smith has been a principal investigator on over U.S. $9 million of sponsored research. She is a four-time Fulbright Scholar with appointments in Turkey, Colombia and Chile. She is a Fellow of IEEE and a registered Professional Engineer.  She is an IEEE CIS Distinguished Lecturer, served twice before on the IEEE CIS Ad Com, and was an Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Evolutionary Computation and IEEE Transactions on Automation Science and Engineering.  Dr. Smith is Editor in Chief of INFORMS Journal on Computing and Area Editor of Computers & Operations Research.

Dr. Hava Siegelmann



University of Massachusetts Amherst

Department of Computer Science



Neural & Learning System

Dr. Hava Siegelmann earned a Ph.D. from Rutgers University, an M.S. from The Hebrew University, and a B.A. from Technion, all in computer science.

Her academic distinctions include fellowships from the Center for Complexity Systems, the Alon Fellowship of Excellence of the Israeli National Committee for Higher Education, and the Rutgers Doctoral Fellowship of Excellence. In 2015, the National Institutes of Health named Siegelmann one of 16 presidential BRAIN Initiative awardees for her work on energy- constrained brain activation. She is the 2016 recipient of the Hebb Award of the International Neural Network Society as well as the 2017-9 IEEE distinguished lecturer. Dr. Siegelmann also serves as a core member of the university’s Neuroscience and Behavior program and of the BINDS lab (Biologically Inspired Neural and Dynamical Systems), focused on biological learning mechanisms. She co-originated “support vector clustering” with Vladimir Vapnik, which has become one of the most widely used clustering algorithms in industry. She also created a sub-field of computation with her discovery of Super-Turing computation.

Piero P. Bonissone


Piero P Bonissone Analytics LLC
3103 28th St, San Diego, CA 92104


Industrial Applications of Hybrid CI Models



Dr. Bonissone is an independent consultant specialized in the use of analytics for Industrial AI and in Machine Learning applications. A former Chief Scientist at GE Global Research (GE GR), where he retired in 2014 after 34 years of service, Dr. Bonissone has been a pioneer in the field of analytics, machine learning, fuzzy logic, AI, and soft computing applications.
He is a Life Fellow of the IEEE and a Fellow of AAAI and IFSA. He received the 2012 Fuzzy Systems Pioneer Award from the IEEE CIS, the II Cajastur International Prize for Soft Computing from the European Centre of Soft Computing, and the Meritorious Service Award from the IEEE CIS. He served as Editor-in-Chief of the International Journal of Approximate Reasoning for 13 years. He co-edited six books and has 150+ publications in refereed journals, book chapters, and conference proceedings, with 10,400+ citations, and an H-Index of 53. He received 74 patents issued by the US Patent Office.